2008-2009 Season
East Midlands Counties Football League
1 News Item
Final Roundup
Kirby champs, Borrowash League Cup winners

Kirby Muxloe were crowned champions following their 3-1 win at Graham St Prims.

But they made life tricky for themselves, coming from behind after Phil Carson had struck a seventh minute opener for the hosts.

Leading scorer Stu Verrall swung the game though with two first half efforts before Kirby Muxloe made sure of the title with an own goal.

That result left Borrowash Victoria in the runners-up berth despite their 2-1 win at Dunkirk.

Rob Spencer and Tony Leighton were on target for the Derbyshire visitors with Neil Thompson scoring for Dunkirk.

The Vics are back in action on Wednesday when they take on Holbrook MW in the League Cup final. Two goals from Rob Harrison handed them a 4-2 win at home to Ellistown and third place.

An early Brett Adams goal could not stop Hinckley Downes from slumping to a 2-1 defeat at the hands of Gedling Town while Gedling MW came from behind to beat Greenwood Meadows 3-2.

But the most dramatic fightback came at Bardon Hill Sports who found themselves trailing 3-0 at home to Barrow Town thanks to goals from Ronnie White, Stu Wilson and Craig Tucker.

Paul O’Callaghan-2 and a Rich Burford goal earned the battlers a share of the spoils but it wasn’t enough to lift them out of the bottom two.

David Lawrence
Write Angle Media
M: 07956 441152

On Wednesday evening, at the home of Holwell Sports, Borrowash Victoria just edged past Holbrooke Miners Welfare 1-0 to take the inaugural league cup, sponsored by B*M Fascia and Soffits.

Just after the hour, a Rob Spencer shot was wicked deflected into the net and Holbrooke were unable to break down a resolute Victoria defence.