United Counties Football League
2007-2008 Season

Premier Division

St Neots Town  3    Yaxley  1

Saturday, 13 October 2007

St Neots moved into a three point lead at the top of the Premier to celebrate the permanent appointments of Ivan Finch and Iain Parr as caretaker bosses.

The Saints dominated the first half but the woodwork twice denied Chris Garwell while John Feetham in the Cuckoos goal made fine saves to deny Steve Kuhne while Yaxley's only serious effort of the half saw Elio Salerno strike the foot of the post.

Mario Palazzo shocked St Neots with a well taken goal four minutes into the second half but eight minutes later they were level with Barrington Belgrave scoring with a low shot after Ashley Deverell's effort was blocked.

Deverell gave the Saints the lead from Jon Hoggett's pass on the hour although it needed a goalline clearance from Garwell to deny Palazzo a leveller.

As the game moved into stoppage time St Neots wrapped up the points. Mark Franklin's corner picked out Deverell whose shot was cleverly flicked in by Belgrave.

St Neots: Jon Chatfield, Jon Hoggett, Mark Barry (Ishmael George), Tony Russell, Kevin Ashby, Chris Garwell (Mark Franklin), Ivan Finch (Russell Lawes), Ryan Francis, Barrington Belgrave, Steve Kuhne, Ashley Deverell.

Yaxley: John Feetham, Danny Steward, Sam Kingston, Matt Parrott, Chris Lenton, Jimmy Dean, Dan Fountain, Dominic Henson, Mario Palazzo, Ricky Hailstone, Elio Salerno (Anthony Thomas).