ChromaSport & Trophies United Counties Football League
2012-2013 Season

Premier Division

Blackstones  1    Peterborough Northern Star  3

Wednesday, 22 August 2012

Star moved into the top three with this derby victory at Lincoln Road.

It was Blackstones who made the early running with Andy Boome and Ben Porter having efforts from distance while the first clear opening saw Michael Nelson fire a cross shot wide after Robbie Pearce and Boome combined.

Things changed with a Star goal after 25 minutes. Matt Cook and Nick Davey combined to play Liam Hook in on goal and his angled shot beat home keeper Lee Crockett with Andy Furnell making sure from close range.

Billy Smith went close to extending the lead after cutting in from the left flank.

Star did score a second after 31 minutes when Crockett's weak clearance found Smith who carried the ball a couple of strides before unleashing a fierce low drive into the corner.

Lee Brooks saved Nelson's long range strike but there was a let off for Stones as Smith's through ball picked out Davey who raced past a defender before shooting into the side netting.

Ben Porter was wide with a 25 yard volley on resumption while Brooks saved well from a Luke Avis free kick.

Substitute Dan Clements entered the fray with good effect, testing Crockett, and his run set up a third Star goal after 63 minutes, Davey finishing clinically with a shot just inside the far post.

Stones replied with a well worked goal after 69 minutes, Avis taking Ben Porter's return pass and slotting home.

It could have been a dramatic finale had Nelson been able to capitalise on mis control by Brooks but the opportunity went begging.

Blackstones: Lee Crockett, Matt Porter, Ben Porter, Luke Avis, Mark Hackett, Luke Hunnings, Nicki Young (Matty Simpson), Andy Boome (Jacob Smitheringale), Sam Bettinson, Michael Nelson, Robbie Pearce (Liam Buttery).

Star: Lee Brooks, Jake Walton, Seth Burkett, Liam Hook (Sam Murphy), Lewis Stone, Wayne Morris, Matthew Cook (Dan Clements), Adam Weston, Andy Furnell (Pete Smith), Nick Davey, Billy Smith.