United Counties Football League
2007-2008 Season

Premier Division

AFC Kempston Rovers  0    St Neots Town  7

Tuesday, 02 October 2007

St Neots moved up to second place with this comprehensive victory at Hillgrounds.

The Saints took control from the off and caretaker boss Ivan Finch was denied an opener by the crossbar.

Ryan Francis opened the scoring on the quarter hour with a mishit penalty conceded by John Clarke and their lead was doubled by Arin Fehmi after 28 minutes, the midfielder following up to score after Barrington Belgrave's effort was blocked.

The floodgates opened after the interval. Tony Russell made it three after 47 minutes after Kevin Ashby's effort from a corner was blocked and Francis scored his second two minutes before the hour mark after Belgrave's effort rebounded from the post.

New signing Chris Garwell made his mark with a double strike after 65 and 69 minutes, his first a volley and his second a tap in after a Francis shot was blocked. Clarke's 87th minute own goal from Mark Barry's cross made it a night to forget for the Walnut Boys.

Kempston: Louis Rust, Ian Grove, Ashley Yeomans (Neil Chance), James Cooper, John Clarke, Mark Pledger, Lewis Hook, Darren Farrar, Gary Higgins, Sanjeev Kalyan (Matt Risborough), Cieran Alexander (Matt Cheverells).

St Neots: Martyn Patching, Jon Hoggett, Mark Barry, Tony Russell (Garry Watts), Kevin Ashby, Ivan Finch, Dave Fisk (Chris Garwell), Ashley Deverell, Barrington Belgrave, Ryan Francis, Arin Fehmi (Steve Kuhne).