United Counties Football League
2007-2008 Season

Premier Division

Stotfold  4    Long Buckby  4

Saturday, 12 April 2008

An afternoon of high drama saw Stotfold win the Premier Division championship for the first time as they overturned a four goal interval deficit to pick up the point required.

Buckby produced a sensational first half display. Carl Holmes gave them a 14th minute advantage, collecting a through ball and holding off a defender before firing home. Darren Lynch added a second a minute before the half hour, heading in after Jason Lee's shot rebounded off the crossbar.

Danny Duggan scored Buckby's third goal from the penalty spot after 32 minutes following a foul by Tommy Hull on Jon Crockett. The visitors were reduced to ten men by Lynch's dismissal three minutes later.

The man disadvantage wasn't immediately appearent as Jason Lee scored a fourth Buckby goal seven minutes before the break, outpacing his marker before shooting low past Brad Gillham .

Stotfold roared back after the interval and Ricky Case started the fightback with a low drive after 53 minutes. Five minutes later skipper Tawhid Juneja cut the arrears further with a header from a Lee Allinson free kick, but Buckby looked like holding out.

Joel Mason scrambled the Eagles' third goal after 86 minutes, and while events elsewhere were confirming Stotfold's title success they completed the comeback in the last minute with a Paul Garrett left foot thunderbolt.

Stotfold: Brad Gillham, Tommy Hull, Paul Donnelly (Arin Fehmi), Colin Shambrook, Tawhid Juneja, Louis Lee, Ricky Case, Luke Donnelly, Joel Mason, Lee Allinson, Paul Garrett. 

Long Buckby: Farhad Afandiyev, Dan Burke, Craig Kelly, Danny Duggan, Stuart Smeathers, Jon Crockett, Ryan Nash, Richard Bunting, Carl Holmes (Ben Foster), Darren Lynch, Jason Lee.