United Counties Football League
2007-2008 Season

Premier Division

Yaxley  0    Cogenhoe United  1

Saturday, 12 April 2008

The Cuckoos' good run of form ended with this reverse against their mid table visitors.

Yaxley failed to take their opportunities in a first half which saw them pose a threat from set pieces. Josh Crick headed wide after Chris Gospel won Dan Fountain's free kick at the far post, and then Anthony Thomas was off target from a Ricky Hailstone corner.

Cogenhoe goalkeeper Darren Watts tipped over a long range effort from Fountain and the keeper was again in action to thwart Sam Makansi with Matt Parrott firing wide of the target as the ball came loose.

The second half saw the Cooks take charge. Dan Thomason was wide with a crossshot early in the half before Cogennoe made the breakthrough after 64 minutes. Rob Foster's shot from an acute angle was cleared off the line by Parrott, but Malcolm Ndekwe followed up to score off the underside of the crossbar.

Thomas was in the thick of the action, blocking a Nick Ashby header on the line, while in stoppage time he fouled Foster in the box. Foster took the spot kick himself but was denied by a fine save by John Feetham, with a goalline clearance denying Ndekwe a second from the follow up.

Yaxley: John Feetham, Ben Russell (Danny Steward), Hamish Curtis (Mario Palazzo), Matt Parrott, Anthony Thomas, Chris Gospel, Josh Crick (Jonathan Griggs), Teddy Rimmell, Sam Makansi, Ricky Hailstone, Dan Fountain.

Cogenhoe: Darren Watts, Lewis Kelly, Jack Ashton, Nick Ashby, Dan Thomason, Lee Gotch, Nick Kingston, Neil Champelovier, Dan Holman (Zac Nedimovic), Rob Foster, Malcolm Ndekwe.