United Counties Football League
2009-2010 Season

Premier Division

Holbeach United  4    Wellingborough Town 2004  4

Saturday, 13 March 2010

Manager Shaun Keeble salvaged a point for the Tigers deep into stoppage time.

It was hardly an expected outcome in the first half as Holbeach opened up a three goal advantage.

Lewis Brooks opened the scoring from the penalty spot after seven minutes and a Craig Parker volley after 33 minutes and a second effort after cutting in from the right seven minutes later had the Tigers in complete control at the interval.

Wellingborough roared back into contention on resumption.

Iain Blaikie started the fightback a minute past the hour,heading in a corner, and a Wayne Richardson double after 63 and 75 minutes, the second a spot kick, evened the scores.

The comeback seemed complete when Scott Cross put the Doughboys in front a minute into added time, firing home from 25 yards.

Keeble had other ideas though, levelling for Holbeach from Dean Elston's flick four minutes later.

Holbeach: James Doughty, Mark Thompson, Matt Warfield, Dean Elston, Lewis Brooks, Cymon Lambe, Jonny Allen, Jason Sedlan, Alex Beck (Shaun Keeble), Liam Nimmo, Craig Parker.

Wellingborough: Shaun Markie, Dan Spaughton, Paul Smith, Richard Bird, Ray Hackett, Joe Cossey (Iain Blaikie), Wayne Richardson (Dan Webster), Mick Parkes, Tom Liversedge, Ben Johnson (Scott Cross), Joe Power.