United Counties Football League
2009-2010 Season

Premier Division

St Neots Town  4    Bourne Town  2

Saturday, 06 March 2010

St Neots held off a spirited Bourne challenge to go four points clear at the top.

Chris Parr headed over for Bourne early on and the Saints hit the front after thirteen minutes. A Rob Hughes corner found James Peagram's whose well struck shot rebounded from the crossbar for Liam Harrold to head home.

Bourne equalised after 29 minutes when the home rearguard failed to deal with a long throw and Tony Pascu fired home a low shot.

Ten minutes before the interval Harrold scored his second, heading in a Dan Jacob cross to round off a move started by Peagram.

Ten minutes into the second half interval substutite Ian Dunn made a quick impact, netting with a low shot to punish Saints keeper Luke McShane's error.

On the hour Hughes regained the lead for St Neots netting directly from a corner.

The win was sealed after 78 minutes with Harrold turning provider with the pass that sent Dan Jacob clear to beat keeper Lee Drury at his near post.

St Neots: Luke McShane, Matt Haniver, Michael Hyem, Lewis Webb, Glen Fuff, Adam Jones, Danny French (Jon Mitchell), Rob Hughes, Liam Harrold (Josh Sozzo), Dan Jacob, James Peagram (Geraint Price). 

Bourne: Lee Drury, Jamie Lawrence (Dan Schiavi), Adam Jackson, Nathan Stainfield, Owen Smith, Giulliano Staffieri (Anthony Melton), Sam Kirton, Chris Parr, Rob Masters, Tony Pascu, Stacy Cartwright (Ian Dunn).