United Counties Football League
2009-2010 Season

Huntingdonshire FA - Senior Cup
Quarter Final

AFC Fletton  1    Yaxley  5

Saturday, 27 February 2010

The Cuckoos made light of a potential banana skin with this emphatic victory.

The underdogs threatened early on with Andrew Bradley hitting the crossbar and stand in keeper Lewis Moat making a couple of good saves in the Yaxley goal.

Elio Salerno put Yaxley in front after twenty minutes, firing a curling shot into the top corner, and when Ben Stainsby sidefooted a second eight minutes before the interval the Cuckoos had one foot in the last four.

Teddy Rimell all but secured their passage six minutes after the restart, collecting a Salerno pass and holding off a couple of challenges to slot home with Ricky Hailstone adding a fourth from the penalty spot after 69 minutes after Lewis Leckie was fouled.

Ryan Asher-Powell completed the Yaxley tally nine minutes from time with his right wing cross deceiving the home goascorer.

Hailstone's own goal from an Adam Beilacqua cross gave Fletton an 88th minute consolation.

Yaxley: Lewis Moat, Michael Calvin (Lewis Leckie), Lewis Stone (Fernand Bass), Ricky Hailstone, Matt Holland, Teddy Rimell, Richard Challinor, Ben Stainsby, Elio Salerno, Jamie Darlow, Sam Makansi (Ryan Asher-Powell).