United Counties Football League
2007-2008 Season

Premier Division

Sleaford Town  0    Boston Town  1

Wednesday, 12 September 2007

Boston went back to the top of the Premier Division with this Eslaforde Park success against top flight newcomers Sleaford.

The Poachers controlled proceedings but Sleaford produced a battling display, particularly after the dismissal of Michael Stones after 29 minutes, and Boston had to display patience to continue their winning run.

Early on Boston looked the sharper side with Jonny Rowan and Gary Bull forcing home keeper Andy Scott into action and Neal Spafford shooting wide after a surging break from defence.

The pressure intensified midway through the first half with Bull shooting too high after a corner on the right and Rowan heading onto the roof of the net.

Stones departed proceedings after a challenge on Spafford earned him a second yellow card but the home side responded positively with Matt Lunn shooting wide after a break on the left.

Lunn was again in action early in the second half, shooting across goal from a Robin Holderness pass but at the other end Paul Goodhand's free kick from a wide position deceived friend and foe alike and was hacked away fromneat the goalline.

Micky Nuttell had a header saved from Liam Ogden's centre, and then Ogden's rising drive forced Scott into his best save of the evening.

The Poachers made the breakthrough with nine minutes remaining. Goodhand's diagonal ball in behind the defence picked out Rowan on a perfectly timed run and his finish matched the quality of the pass.

Bart Griemink in the visiting goal had rarely been troubled but he showed his worth after 83 minutes, saving point blank from Sleaford substitute Pete Sutton.

Sleaford: Andy Scott, Matt Hodgkin, Darren Statham, Jon Machin, Kris Jones, Oliver Sidney, Robin Holderness (Pete Sutton), Carl Sedlan, Michael Stones, Ben Harris (Jason Sedlan), Matt Lunn (Jamie Shaw).

Boston: Bart Griemink, Ross Don-Duncan, Neal Spafford, Steve Appleby, Shaun Baker, Jonny Rowan, James Brader (Mark Foster), Paul Goodhand, Micky Nuttell, Gary Bull, Liam Ogden.