United Counties Football League
2007-2008 Season

Premier Division

St Neots Town  3    Holbeach United  0

Saturday, 16 February 2008

The Saints head a trio of clubs on 55 points but with leaders Stotfold ten points ahead with two games in hand, they remain long odds outsiders in the title race.

There was an early scare for St Neots as Holbeach player manager Shaun Keeble found the home net but the referee adjuded Ian Dunn to have fouled home custodian Jon Chatfield.

Defender Dean McElroy gave St Neots the lead after 17 minutes after Chris Johnson sent Dave Fisk away on the right to cross and they went on to boss the first half before wrapping up the win after the break.

A goalline clearance from Dean Elston denied Jon Hoggett a second first half goal for the Saints. 

Kevin Byrne scored the second goal two minutes after the hour after latching on to Jon Hall's chip over the Holbeach defence and Andy Findlay came off the bench to complete the scoring with thirteen minutes remaining, Danny Marlow the architect of the goal.

St Neots: Jon Chatfield, Dean McElroy, Paul Bloss, Steve Dogbe, Tony Russell, Danny Marlow, Dave Fisk (Mark Franklin), Jon Hoggett, Chris Johnson, Kevin Byrne (Andy Findlay), Jon Hall (Luigi Rocco).

Holbeach: Nick Conroy, Max Coupland, Adam Jackson, Mark Thompson, Dean Elston, Tommy Treacher, Omar Joof, Ross Nichols (Nick Keeble), Antonio Pascu, Shaun Keeble (Simon Penney), Ian Dunn.