United Counties Football League
2009-2010 Season

Premier Division

Bourne Town  1    Wellingborough Town 2004  2

Saturday, 23 January 2010

The Doughboys continued their improvement with this win at fast falling Bourne who've now lost five in a row.

Ben Johnson's 22nd minute strike following a run on the left had Wellingborough in front at the interval but Addie Staffieri levelled for the Wakes on 58 minutes, breaking clear of the visiting defence on the right to fire home.

Bourne appeals for a penalty for a foul on Lee Orrey fell on deaf ears.

With a stalemate beckoning Iain Blaikie snatched an 85th minute winner for the visitors, firing home from ten yards after the Wakes defence failed to clear a Dan Grainger cross.

Bourne: Martyn Lakin, Giuliano Staffieri (Tony Pascu), Owen Smith, Nathan Stainfield, Stacy Cartwright (Jimmy McDonnell), Tony Brooks, Keith Gray, Addie Staffieri, Ian Dunn, Lee Orrey, Rob Masters (Ian Shooter).

Wellingborough: Shaun Markie, Dan Spaughton, Paul Smith, Richard Bird, Ray Hackett, Dan Grainger, Wayne Richardson (Joe Cossey), Mick Parkes, Tom Liversedge (Scott Cross), Ben Johnson (Iain Blaikie), Joe Power.