United Counties Football League
2005-2006 Season
Premier Division

Buckingham Town  3    Stotfold  2

Saturday, 24 December 2005

Buckingham moved into the top four after snatching a late victory in this pulsating contest with in form Stotfold at Ford Meadow.

From the first whistle attenpts on goal came thick and fast. Robins defender Ian Trott headed wide from a corner while Stotfold replied with Richard Pringle heading over a Darren Dykes cross and then creating an opening for Liam George which saw the ex-Luton Town man fire narrowly too high.

The goalkeepers were earning their corn too with James Lansdown saving in fine style from Stotfold's Paul Harrington and Nigel Blower in the visiting goal doing likewise to deny Andy Prescott the opening goal. Moses Olaleye was unable to keep his header down after a well timed run into the box, while Trott recovered well to make a saving tackle after his headed back pass was latched on to by Pringle.

Stotfold were looking the more likely scorers and they went in front after 24 minutes, Pringle rising at the far post to head home from a deep cross from Harrington.

Buckingham had to replace goalkeeper Lansdown through injury at half time but teenage replacement Tom Willshere was rarely tested until he was well placed to field a Dykes free kick. Buckingham's second change proved more influential with Bilal Hassan levelling the scores from close range after 67 minutes after Lewis Reid's fierce effort was parried by Blower. Sixty seconds later Hassan was brought down by the Stotfold custodian, and in the protests which followed Eagles speedster Ady Bascombe received his marching orders. Reuben Max-Grant slotted home from the spot.

Stotfold threw caution to the wind and with seven minutes left they were on terms, Pringle converting a penalty after being fouled himself. There was still time for a home winner, Trott powering in an unstoppable header from a corner to give the Robins all three points and leave Stotfold feeling hard done by.

Buckingham: James Lansdown (Tom Willshere), Paul Stanley, Tony Joyce, Ian Trott, Lance Gentle-King, Lewis Reid, Moses Olaleye, Lee Grant, Reuben Max-Grant, Andy Prescott (Bilal Hassan), Marcus Sawyer.
Stotfold: Nigel Blower, Jermaine Daley, Steve Blower, Ryan Frater, Dean Chapman, Paul Harrington, Jim Benton, Darren Dykes, Richard Pringle, Liam George, Ady Bascombe.
Attendance: 165.