United Counties Football League
2005-2006 Season
Premier Division

Blackstones  3    St Ives Town  4

Thursday, 22 December 2005

St Ives showed great character to snatch victory in this entertaining encounter at Lincoln Road, after trailing for much of the game.

The Saints were close to an opener after ten minutes when Will Fordham's fierce strike was tipped over by home keeper Ian Flavell, but it was Stones who took a 22nd minute lead with a smart near post finish by Matty Doyle from a left wing cross. Two minutes later Doyle was on hand to score his second after a Richard Jones shot rebounded from the post.

St Ives responded with a well taken 37th minute reply from Craig Donaldson who timed his run perfectly to meet Liam Kennett's left wing centre, and three minutes later Stones were stunned when Dan Newman's free kick caught Flavell in no man's land and Fordham headed home.

Five minutes into the second period Newman's back header fell short and Dan Cotton darted in to beat Saints keeper Aaron Bannie. Blackstones sought to build on their lead with Darren Glover and Robbie Blowers going close and Gareth Williams denied by the woodwork.

St Ives hung in there and with fifteen minutes left Donaldson's corner drifted unchallenged across the six yard box and went in off the far post. With five minutes remaining James Clark's quickly taken free kick caught the home defence out only for Graeme Thackray to fire wide. Sixty seconds later though Thackray atoned with a close range header from Donaldson's free kick.

The excitement continued right to the finish with Cotton narrowly wide with a free kick and in stoppage time home substitute Michael Chong intercepted Steve Poore's back pass only for Saints player manager Warren Everdell to clear off the line.

Blackstones: Ian Flavell, Robbie Blowers, Richard Jones, Paul Sheehan, Darren Glover, Matty Doyle, Gareth Williams, Andy Boome, Jamie Gilsenan (Michael Chong), Dean Foley, Dan Cotton.
St Ives: Aaron Bannie, Glyn Cooke (James Clark), Steve Poore, Dan Newman (Warren Everdell), Will Fordham, Anton D'Avilar, Stefan Lewis, Craig Donaldson, Graeme Thackray, Liam Kennett, Jon Lee (Jon Gull).
Attendance: 95.