United Counties Football League
2007-2008 Season

Premier Division

Bourne Town  1    Yaxley  4

Saturday, 19 January 2008

The Cuckoos avenged an early season home defeat by the Wakes with victory in this Abbey Lawn return.

Three goals in the last eleven minutes of the first half proved decisive in settling the outcome.

Ricky Hailstone opened the scoring for Yaxley with a free kick from just outside the box after 34 minutes with Elio Salerno adding a 36th minute second following a corner.

Mark Paul's 17th goal of the season, a great strike from a wide position from a Hailstone free kick, extended the Cuckoos' advantage five minutes before the interval.

A foul by Anthony Thomas in the penalty area saw the Yaxley defender receive a second yellow card and Jason Gough scored the 70th minute penalty to give the Wakes a glimmer of hope but Yaxley sealed their success seven minutes later through Teddy Rimmell.

Bourne: Ben Derbyshire, Mark Walklin, Matt Holland, Jason Gough, Aaron Ridout, Billy Sparks, Simon Barrick, Jim McDonnell (Steve Hipkiss), Liam Palmer, Alex Harrison (Ben Stainsby), Giuliano Staffieri (Dan Jarman).

Yaxley: John Feetham, Danny Steward, Ben Russell, Anthony Thomas, Matt Parrott, Teddy Rimell (Dan Fountain), Ian Edge, Lee Blewett, Mark Paul, Ricky Hailstone, Elio Salerno (Chris Lenton).