ChromaSport & Trophies United Counties Football League
2012-2013 Season

Premier Division

Cogenhoe United  7    Harborough Town  1

Tuesday, 11 September 2012

Cogenhoe joined St Ives on the 16 point mark at the top of the league after this demolition of top flight newcomers Harborough who face a steep learning curve in their new surroundings.

The early stages were dominated by Harborough with Rob Barnett missing a chance and Matt Oakley heading over from a corner.

A poor clearance by Harborough keeper Luke Maher presented Chris Davies with a chance for Cogenhoe, but the keeper redeemed himself with a fine tip over.

Harborough took a richly deserved lead after 19 minutes with Jake Bettles run setting up Barnett whose first effort was saved by James Stirling and follow up blocked but Cogenhoe failed to clear their lines with Bettles forcing a save before Ben Barton swept home the loose ball.

Cogenhoe were on terms three minutes later when the visiting defence failed to deal with a Davies delivery and Darren Frost pounced to beat Maher at his near post.

Lewis Leslie's point blank header from a Frost centre was brilliantly tipped onto the post by Maher, but Cogenhoe were not to be denied, going in front with a Jamie Russell tap in on 27 minutes after Maher thwarted Leslie.

A minute into first half added time Cogenhoe extended their lead with a free kick which caught out the visiting defence, Frost following up to score his second after Robbie Bushell's shot was deflected.

A confident Cooks side continued to create openings after the interval. A close range Josh Urquhart header made it four after 52 minutes and four minutes later Leslie stole in at the back post to head in Jed Ainge's flag kick from the left.

Frost completed his hat trick after 68 minutes, slotting the ball home after Stirling's long clearance skimmed the head of a defender.

Maher tipped a Tom Liversedge effort onto the bar after a barnstorming run on the left by Josh Olowoyo.

The scoring was completed nine minutes from time as Sam Heavey converted a pull back from Frost.

Cogenhoe: James Stirling, Josh Urquhart, Josh Olowoyo, Jed Ainge, Robbie Bushell, Ryan Dufty, Chris Davies (Ben Foster), Lewis Leslie, Dustin Fitzgerald (Tom Liversedge), Darren Frost, Jamie Russell (Sam Heavey).

Harborough: Luke Maher, Liam Conaghan, Chris Hollist, Matt Oakley, Mitch Bevins (Martin Anderson), Will Arnold, Ian Waldock, Jake Bettles, Rob Barnett, Ben Barton, Alex McMillan (Rich Conway).