United Counties Football League
2007-2008 Season

Division One

Rothwell Corinthians  1    Eynesbury Rovers  0

Saturday, 01 December 2007

Corinths emerged victorious in this fixture for the first time in seven years.

Eynesbury debutant Craig Whitaker had the ball in the home net early on only for handball to be given, while at the other end a Tony Ielapi effort hit the post.

A single goal from Tom Johnson, a direct free kick from 25 yards after 36 minutes and awarded for a foul on Phil Cox, decided the contest in Corinths' favour and left Eynesbury anchored in the bottom two of the division.

The visitors ended the game with ten men after Ian Dawkes received a second caution.

Rothwell: Tom Cross, Greg Arnold, Tom Johnson, Chris Dunn, Tom Judge, Lee Deacon, Phil Cox, Tony Ielapi (Elliott Roberts), Dave Briffa, Sam Johnson, Andy White.

Eynesbury: Dean Shipp, Stuart Humphreys, Kirk Kidd, Jon Cole, Laurence Revell, Dan Woodhead, Gary Beard (Ricky Taylor), Neil Morris, Kris Watters, Craig Whitaker, Ian Dawkes.