United Counties Football League
2007-2008 Season

Division One

Whitworths  1    Daventry Town  7

Saturday, 17 November 2007

Reigning champions Whitworths were left shellshocked as Division One leaders Daventry ran riot at London Road.

Danny Nelson gave the visitors a first minute lead, turning in a Tom Berwick shot, and they tightened their grip on the match with two more first half goals.

Top scorer Berwick scored number two for Daventry after 35 minutes following good work by Josh O'Grady and Nelson and Nelson added a third a minute before the interval with a left footed drive into the bottom corner.

When Kris Line scored after 67 minutes from a corner the Flourmen had a glimmer of hope but it was quickly snuffed out by the pacesetters. Richard Wesley restored the visitors' three goal margin three minutes later and Danny Finlay added two more after 72 and 80 minutes, heading his first after Paul Atkins and Wesley combined and following up by converting O'Grady's free kick at the far post.

Daventry's tally was completed two minutes from time by Amrit Sidhu, making his first appearance after signing from Long Buckby.  The new man showed clever footwork to score a fine solo effort. 

Whitworths: Craig Patterson, Anthony Sharp (James Mallows), Paul Smith (Jamie Wright), James Gorman, Kris Line, Stuart Goosey, Luke Raftery (Lukasz Saluda), Matt Freeman, James Daldy, Cavell Jarvis, Danny O'Neill. 

Daventry: Joe Mellings, Luke Walker, Tim Orford, Chris Godwin, Ady Greatrex, Josh O'Grady, Ryan Byrne, Paul Saunders (Paul Atkins), Tom Berwick (Amrit Sidhu), Danny Nelson (Danny Finlay), Richard Wesley.