United Counties Football League
2007-2008 Season

Premier Division

Blackstones  5    Bourne Town  0

Tuesday, 13 November 2007

Blackstones notched up a thirteenth successive win in all competitions as struggling Bourne found themselves overwhelmed at Lincoln Road.

John Currall had a snap shot saved by Ian Flavell just three minutes in but there was an early warning for the Wakes when Liam Harrold headed in a Trevor Smith cross only to be ruled offside.

Simon Barrick headed narrowly wide at the near post from a Currall corner, but with 16 minutes played Stones were ahead, Luke Kennedy's cross headed into his own net by Matt Holland.

The home side doubled their lead after 23 minutes. Ben Derbyshire turned away a Phil Stebbing header but Liam Harrold retrieved possession and passed inside for Stebbing to lay off into the path of Kennedy who beat the keeper with a low shot through a crowd of players.

A minute before the half hour some wonderful improvisation by Harrold saw hiom juggle the ball away from two defenders before volleying home.

Derbyshire in the visiting goal was standing between Stones and a landslide, turning off a well struck effort from Dab Cotton and blocking a Stebbing header from Kevin Ainslie's cross.

A well worked move brought Stones their fourth goal four minutes into the second half. Kennedy's pass inside a defender sent Harrold running into space on the right and his pull back was volleyed in by Stebbing at thenear post.

Derbyshire saved a Ross Nicholls volley before Ainslie cut inside, beat two defenders and fired over.

With twelve minutes remaining Bourne at last worked Flavell, Mark Walklin's pass finding Scott Spearink who tested the home keeper.

Substitute Ashley Stevens was wide with a diving header from Ainslie's cross, but he did get on the scoresheet after 87 minutes, finding space in the box to slot home.

Blackstones: Ian Flavell, Robbie Blowers, Trevor Smith (Andy Boome), Paul Sheehan (Danny Hussey), Richard Jones, Ross Nicholls, Dan Cotton, Luke Kennedy, Liam Harrold, Phil Stebbing (Ashley Stevens), Kevin Ainslie.

Bourne: Ben Derbyshire, Mark Walklin, Matt Holland, Jason Gough, Aaron Ridout, Jim McDonnell, John Currall (Billy Sparks), Simon Barrick (Owen Smith), Scott Spearink (Darren Munton), Liam Palmer, Robbie Pearce.