United Counties Football League
2009-2010 Season

Premier Division

Yaxley  2    Newport Pagnell Town  3

Saturday, 17 October 2009

Newport won at Leading Drove for the fifth season in succession.

It was the Cuckoos who took an early lead, Jamie Darlow opening the scoring after just six minutes.

The match was turned on its head by two Darren Lynch goals in the space of two minutes, the experienced front man levelling three minutes past the half hour and giving his side the lead two minutes later.

Richard Challinor hauled Yaxley level after 62 minutes, but Scott Mulkern gave Newport all three points with a 75th minute decider.

Darlow and Chris Lenton were both denied by goalline clearances while Anthony Thomas was thwarted by the woodwork.

Yaxley: Aaron Bellairs, Aaron Ridout, Lewis Stone, Chris Lenton, Matt Holland, Richard Challinor, Michael Calvin (Ondre Odain), Anthony Thomas, Jamie Darlow, Ricky Hailstone, Matt Montif (Fernand Bass).

Newport: Joe Pursell, Alex Phillips (John Thorpe), Keith Williams, Dean Buss, James Fletcher, Rob Tapp, Matt Broomes (Scott Mulkern), Richard Armstrong, Nabil Shariff (Daniel Nti), Darren Lynch, Rob Macdonald.