United Counties Football League
2007-2008 Season

League Cup
Preliminary Round

Sleaford Town  6    Thrapston Town  0

Saturday, 01 September 2007

When these sides met in last season's Knockout Cup Sleaford ran out 3-0 winners, this time round they doubled their earlier tally to hand out a drubbing to their lower grade visitors.

It took just six minutes for defender Jon Machin to give Sleaford the lead with a header from a Ben Harris corner and Matt Lunn added a 21st minute second after Robin Holderness created the opening with a 60 yard run.

Miles Hunter scored a third for Sleaford two minutes into the second half, turning to score after Holderness dispossessed a defender and a strong finish to the game brought the home side three further goals.

Kris Jones joined the scoring spree from close range after 79 minutes, scoring at the second attempt from a Harris cormer, and Michael Stones came off the bench to complete the tally with further goals from distance after 84 and 90 minutes.

Sleaford: Andy Scott, Matt Hodgkin, Darren Statham, Jon Machin, Kris Jones, Oliver Sidney, Robin Holderness (Pete Sutton), Carl Sedlan (Shaun Popple), Miles Hunter (Michael Stones), Ben Harris, Matt Lunn.

Thrapston: Louis McAllister, John Caine, Mark Chilton, Sam Duxbury, Craig Ferguson, Matt Harris, Jason Lee (Paul Smith), Sam Northern, Ben Morgan, Jack Wisniewski, Jake Wesby.